their boundaries; (3) the Municipal Police—every city of reasonable size employs its own police organization which is paid for by the local taxpayers and which attends to purely police matters within the borders of the municipality concerned.

The organizations under these three headings are described in turn below.

Section 1.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Name and Status.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a Civil Force maintained by the Dominion Government. It was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police, whose duties were confined to what was then known as the Northwest Territories. By 1904, the work of the Force received signal recognition when the prefix "Royal" was bestowed upon it by King Edward VII. In 1905, when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted Provinces, an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its duties as formerly, each Province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This was continued until 1917.

In 1918, the Royal North West Mounted Police was assigned the duty of enforcing Dominion legislation for the whole of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William. Soon after the end of the First World War, an extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion statutes throughout Canada must be the responsibility of a Dominion Force and, therefore, the jurisdiction of the Royal North West Mounted Police was extended to the whole of Canada early in 1920. In that year, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the former Dominion Police with Headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and the Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Control and Organization.—The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Justice) and, as stated above, may be employed anywhere in Canada. Its officers are commissioned by the Crown and for many years have been selected from serving non-commissioned officers.

The Force is divided into 14 Divisions of varying strength, including the Marine Section, distributed over the entire country. The term of engagement for recruits is five years, and the minimum age for a third-class constable is 21 years. Recruits are trained at Regina, Sask., and Rockcliffe, Ont. Police Colleges are also maintained at these centres, where courses of training and instruction are given to keep the Force abreast of the latest developments in criminology.

From a total of 300 in 1873, the Force grew to over 4,700 by 1944 and in 1948 had a strength of approximately 3,200. Its means of transport consists of 192 horses, 754 motor-vehicles, 6 aeroplanes and 264 sleigh dogs; 17 trained police dogs are maintained for tracking. Its Marine Section at present consists of 219 officers and men and 19 vessels of various sizes. The R.C.M. Police Aviation Section has a personnel of 17.

In 1937 a Reserve was established which in 1948 numbered over 324: units are located principally at such large centres as Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Calgary and Halifax, where men can be congregated easily, and where instruction can be given in the evenings.